Posted by: Katy | January 31, 2008

As Good As It Gets

office-blog4.jpgoffice-blog-3.jpgoffice-blog-2.jpgoffice-blog-1.jpgMy office was driving me crazy!  So disorganized and messy.  So I sat down and forced myself to go through piles of papers and books and miscellaneous junk that had accumulated.  It had become difficult to sit down and work in my office for a variety of reasons, including:

1) It was so cluttered and disorganized that I had a hard time thinking clearly

2) My desk chair was REALLy uncomfortable and given the fact that I just had a neck/shoulder injury in August and had to take a week of bed rest and listen to a physical therapist advise me about more “ergonomic” choices in furniture, I need a more comfortable work space

3) It had become a dumping ground for all the stuff I didn’t want cluttering up the rest of the house.

4) Extreme lack of storage

5) It’s not the prettiest space in the world

So I did my best to clean and organize the office and make it as pretty as I could with a limited to non-existant budget.  I visited my favorite store on Magazine St. and bought a new chair and old filing slot system, which was totally in my budget as they were both 30% off!  Now all I have to do is find a way to make the book cases look less cluttered and awful (despite the fact that I need ALL of my books as I’m a researcher who primarily works from home), put a rug on the floor to cover the ugly linoleum, and figure out something else to remedy the poorly done crackle faux finish I did on my desk (I’d never done anything like it before, and it shows).  Maybe a new desk is in order. . .but that will have to be down the road.  Here are pics of the revamped office.  Still not what I would like for it to be by any stretch of the imagination (and boy does my imagination soar to all kinds of places when it comes to this space) but for now, it’s as good as it will get.  Notice my little “helper”/secretary helping to sort through my papers.  🙂

Responses

  1. It’s not the best for doing research, but organizing the books by the spine color always things look less cluttered. I just did that with our books that we *don’t* use for research. 🙂

  2. oops, left out the word “makes”

  3. Thanks for the suggestion. I’ve thought about doing that; I’ve seen pictures of it where it looks really cool. But you’re right about the books for research. I have to have them grouped by subject. So I’ll probably wind up having one and a half shelves that are nice and color coordinated and another one and a half shelves of cluttered books for research!


Leave a Reply

Categories

