Posted by: Katy | February 4, 2008

Mardi Gras Masquerade

Carnival is in full swing here in New Orleans.  Usually I don’t wear a costume on Mardi Gras Day, but this year I decided to go all the way and dress up!  So what to do?  I don’t want to look like I just resurrected by Halloween costume.  Also, I tend to err on the side of classy.  This is a nice way of saying that I don’t care to look like Britney Spears, both pre and post divorce.  I wanted something fun that would in some way reflect the city and also help me to fit in among all the other [costumed] revelers.  Here in New Orleans, the Garden District has streets named for the nine muses.  I’ve always found this enchanting, so very New Orleans!  At first I thought about dressing up as Clio the Muse of History.  After further reflection, I decided upon Melpomene the Muse of Tragedy.  As with so many things, New Orleanians pronounce this word very differently from its “accurate” pronunciation.  We say (with the places stressed in capitals) MEL-po-MEAN instead of mel-poh-MEH-nee.  It makes me laugh.  Why the muse of tragedy, other than her really cool name?  I felt like representing tragedy would reflect post-Katrina New Orleans.  However, it means more than the tragedy we went through.  Get this quote:”This Muse has embraced tragedy and has surmounted it. While throughout the ravages of time Melpomene has seen tragedy in all forms, out of that tragedy she helps to bring forth the triumph of the human spirit. She will act as a guide, to inspire you to weather the storm.”

When I read “weather the storm,” I just knew!  So I’m going to recycle an old bridesmaids dress into something I can make represent Melpomene with absolutely no budget and just things I find around the house!  For tomorrow!  We’ll see how it goes.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

