Posted by: Katy | March 17, 2008

Monday!

I can’t believe it’s Monday!  This weekend was pretty busy.  My friend Tiffany (whose birthday was yesterday) had her mother come in town for a visit, and she (Tiff) cooked us eggplant lasagna for dinner.  Then we went to Snug Harbor to hear Ellis Marsalis.  If you haven’t been, you should go.  If you don’t live in New Orleans, you should come here just to be able to go to Snug Harbor and hear REALLY GOOD jazz.  Too many tourists visiting the city are misinformed and think that just by walking down Bourbon St. and wandering into a bar they’ll hear good jazz.  The real place for good music of any kind (particularly jazz) is in the Faubourg Marigny, just a few blocks from the French Quarter.  It’s kind of like what the French Quarter used to be like before it became overly commercialized.  (Not that I don’t adore the Quarter!)  So if you want good music, go to the Marigny.

Woke up bright and early the next day, spent the morning gathering my tax documents (fun), and then went out to the Irish Channel for the St. Patrick’s Day parade.  This is sort of a nostalgic event for me, as I used to live right where the Lower Garden District and the Irish Channel touch, and I really miss the neighborhood.  The parade starts just a block from where I used to live.  We caught cabbages, carrots, potatoes, onions, and a multitude of other things.  Now I have seven heads of cabbage and have NO IDEA how I’m going to use it all.  Last night I made a beef and vegetable soup and froze it all.  Today I’m probably going to make a ribollita, a kind of Italian stew/soup.  St. Pat’s is always great because green is my favorite color.  Of course, I stood next to a redhead at the parade (and BOY did she look Irish) so she got a lot of attention and was a favorite of the marching groups and the float riders.

I’m really sore and tired from working in my yard yesterday.  I call it a yard very loosely.  Truly it’s a bunch of St. Augustine grass and then a complete blank space inhabited by weeds as high as my belly button.  Believe it or not, I do attempt to control this.  But they seem determined to spite me.  I have an old, rather unruly lawn mower, which I cannot turn on.  I am not kidding.  My roommate tried, too, and was unsuccessful.  Apparently it takes the strength of a Goliath to pull the cord to turn this thing on.  So I spent the day flinging a hoe through the weeds, beating the ground, cutting them down.  Not very successful.  However, my dad gave me four banana tree offshoots from his tree and I planted these as well as some Creole tomatoes.  After watering the whole yard (front and back) and lamenting the fact that, despite all my efforts, I will never be able to keep up with all the trash people throw on and around my property as they walk back from the corner store, I went in the house, cooked lots of soup and a pork roast, did my grocery shopping for the week, did two loads of laundry, and called it a day.

Whew!  I need a Spring Break.  I am convinced that the true difference between being 26 and being 21—it’s not 5 years—it’s lack of a Spring Break!

Leave a Reply

Categories

